What Does it Mean to Believe on the Name of the Son of God?

The majority of scripture is the command to believe on the son of God, Jesus Christ, for eternal or everlasting life. However, there are five scriptures that tell us to believe on the name of the son of God, or to believe in his name. The word ‘believe’ is found 85 times in the Gospel of John.

Here are the verses.

But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name:John 1:12

He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of GodJohn 3:18

But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name:1 John 1:2

And this is his commandment, That we should believe on the name of his Son Jesus Christ, and love one another, as he gave us commandment1 John 3:23

These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye may know that ye have eternal life, and that ye may believe on the name of the Son of God1 John 5:13

So what does it mean to believe on the name of the Son of God?

We need to look at the name JESUS.

And she shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call his name JESUS: for he shall save his people from their sinsMatthew 1:21

Jesus is greek 2424 for Iesous = Jehovah is salvation.

Who is JEHOVAH? it is clear from the scriptures that Jehovah is God Almighty.

and I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by the name of God Almighty, but by my name JEHOVAH was I not known to themExodus 6:3

that men may know that thou, whose name alone isJEHOVAH, art the most high over all the earthPsalm 83:18

Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the LordJEHOVAHis my strength and my song; he also is become my salvationIsaiah 12:2

Trust ye in the Lord for ever: for in the Lord JEHOVAH is everlasting strengthIsaiah 26:4

The surname of Jesus is not Christ. Christ is greek 5547 for Christos = anointed or messiah

Jesus Christ is the anointed one, Jehovah God incarnated in the flesh, our messiah.

So to believe on the name of the son of God is to believe that Jesus is God incarnate, our messiah who takes away our sin. Only God can forgive sin.

Why doth this man thus speak blasphemies? who can forgive sins but God only?Mark 2:7

Jesus clearly says in scripture that the Son of man has the power to forgive sins.

But that ye may know that the Son of man hath power on earth toforgivesins, (then saith he to the sick of the palsy,) Arise, take up thy bed, and go unto thine house Matthew 9:6

But that ye may know that the Son of man hath power on earth to forgive sins, (he saith to the sick of the palsy,)Mark 2:10

But that ye may know that the Son of man hath power upon earth to forgive sins, (he said unto the sick of the palsy,) I say unto thee, Arise, and take up thy couch, and go into thine houseLuke 5:24

Jesus was the sinless lamb who took away the sin of the world.

The next day John seeth Jesus coming unto him, and saith, Behold the Lamb of God, which taketh away the sin of the world. – John 1:29

26 For such an high priest became us, who is holy, harmless, undefiled, separate from sinners, and made higher than the heavens; 27 who needeth not daily, as those high priests, to offer up sacrifice, first for his own sins, and then for the people’s: for this he did once, when he offered up himselfHebrews 10:26-27

Jesus is God Almighty, co-equal with the Father and co-equal with the Holy Spirit, these three separate persons are the triune Godhead.

Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ. For in him dwelleth all the fulness of the Godhead bodily. 10 And ye are complete in him, which is the head of all principality and power: – Colossians 2:8-10

 1 These words spake Jesus, and lifted up his eyes to heaven, and said, Father, the hour is come; glorify thy Son, that thy Son also may glorify thee: as thou hast given him power over all flesh, that he should give eternal life to as many as thou hast given him. And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.I have glorified thee on the earth: I have finished the work which thou gavest me to do. And now, O Father, glorify thou me with thine own self with the glory which I had with thee before the world was.John 17:1-5

 

11 comments

  1. To believe in the name of Jesus, is to believe that Jesus is the promised Messiah (the only begotten/unique son of God) from the Old Testament prophecies and that Eternal Life is the gift The Messiah will give to anyone who trust in the Messiah for the free gift of His Eternal Life.

    Simply put, trust in The promised Messiah for Eternal Life.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Coequal? The Father is greater than I. One called Jesus Good and he replied and said “why do you call me good, only God is good!”.. Jesus calls God, his God.

    God says, I do not change so that my children Israel will never be lost.

    I suggest we should all have a keen look as we have inherited doctrines from Indian religions, they are so easy to believe. Been there and they are so believable.

    This one snuck into “Christianity” and its mess is big and wide.

    Like

    • The Godhead is comprised of three persons, the Father, the Son, and the Holy Ghost. Each is equally God. Only God is sinless and only God the Son could die in our place to pay our wages of sin being death.

      Like

  3. I been so sinful, but I always believed in Jesus being the Christ and son of God. But my obedience has way short. Just know at 67 years of age and must be in my reeling stag. Is there hope for me? I feel I have lost hope and faith. I’m I doomed? I want to be obedient and give a soft loving heart. It’s a struggle. I know works count only for rewards. But I can’t remember a single good work. I have practice much sin. I have failed may times. And still do. I have mourned my sins and confess them often. I want to love others and God. I may have lost my witness. I hope he is preparing me for something greater. I pray for a contrite heart and mine. I have deep concern on my salvation in this attitude. I struggle with. Jesus is Lord of lords and king of kings. I have waited to long to commit? I didn’t under stand commitment until recently. I want to give him every part of me. Help to understand how. I have depression and anxiety and fear to overcome.

    Like

    • Hi James. Thank you for your comment, and I just want to reassure you that we all, as Christians, fail every day, whether in word, thought or deed. Perfection is not possible for human beings, because Christ is the only Perfect Obedient One, and when our faith is in Him alone through his death, burial and resurrection, we are born again, and never to be lost.

      Try to memorise these wonderful scriptures, John 10:28-30, and I GIVE unto THEM ETERNAL LIFE and they shall NEVER PERISH, neither shall any man PLUCK them out of MY HAND. For my FATHER that gave them me is GREATER THAN ALL, and no man is able to PLUCK THEM out of my FATHER’S HAND. I and my father are one.

      These verses are talking about eternal security.

      I also have memorised 1 John 5:11-13

      And this is the RECORD, that God HATH GIVEN to us ETERNAL LIFE and this life is in HIS SON. He that HATH THE SON HATH LIFE and he that hath NOT the Son of God HATH NOT LIFE. These things have I written unto YOU that YE MAY KNOW that YE HAVE ETERNAL LIFE, and that YE may BELIEVE ON THE NAME OF THE SON OF GOD.

      If you sin, confess your sin to God the Father and come back into fellowship knowing that the blood of Christ has cleansed you. Let’s remember that we are born sinners and we sin. I think a lot of Christians are just not honest because they look at sins as small or big. All sin took Jesus to the Cross, but we are BORN AGAIN through HIM. Salvation is the GIFT OF GOD, not of works. BOAST OF CHRIST.

      Who do you listen to? I recommend Pastor Tom Cucuzza, Pastor Ralph ‘Yankee’ Arnold, Pastor Bill Wenstrom, Pastor Charlie Bing, Pastor Jesse Martinez, Pastor JB Hixson. These are all excellent on the salvation by grace, through faith in Jesus Christ alone message. A good pastor and good biblical teachings will build your faith.

      Just the fact that you wrote what you did shows that you are sensitive to the Holy Spirit and sin, so don’t worry about the contrite and soft loving heart. A sad fact today is that a lot of Christians are hard hearted to sin, and it’s a dangerous place to be in.

      We grow by reading and studying His Word, prayer, and fellowship. When we sin, confess it as 1 John 9 says, and enjoy the fellowship once more. Jesus is our Mediator.

      I can send you some gospel tracts, if you would like some, to send out. Remember, the Word of God will not return unto him void, so just send it out where you can and leave it with God, and that’s expressing faith.

      I too suffer with depression, anxiety, OCD, and a recent diagnosis of Emotional Unstable Personality Disorder in March 2020. It affects me daily. I just thank God for saving a sinner like me who fails every day.

      I hope that this has helped and Write to me any time.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.